Purpose: To recognise NZIAHS members who have given outstanding service to agricultural or horticultural science. The award of a Fellowship needs to reflect an on-going and active engagement in scientific research and/or development and not just participation in the scientific community. This would be evidenced by a significant number of elements of one or both of the following:

(a)  High performing scientific career; innovative research, international reputation and peer recognition. Evidence may include:

  • Integration and implementation of Vision Mātauranga into agricultural and horticultural research
  • Outstanding publication record;
  • Frequently invited to be a keynote speaker;
  • Leads significant research programmes;
  • Successful funding proposals;
  • Peer recognition e.g. awards;
  • Integration and implementation of Vision Mātauranga into agricultural and/or horticultural research;
  • Development of new methods, concepts and theory that have advanced research practice or understanding, at least at a national level, in the relevant discipline;
  • Role model and mentoring role in the development of emerging researchers;
  • Elected/invited to roles in leadership, journal editing, government/industry boards or trusts.

(b)  Scientific contribution to an agricultural/horticultural industry or sector that has resulted in significant impact. Evidence may include:

  • Outstanding record of commissioned investigative reports and/or presentations to industry or sector;
  • Peer and/or end-user recognition e.g. awards;
  • Contribution has resulted in technology transfer and successful uptake of new products, processes, IP, or services;
  • Contribution has resulted in a significant improvement or change in policy for an industry or agricultural/horticultural sector;
  • Contribution has resulted in impact to Māori agriculture and/or horticulture;
  • Development of a national profile as a communicator within a particular discipline, trusted by a sector and/or by the general public;
  • Uniting sector stakeholders around a common purpose to achieve beneficial outcomes in New Zealand’s interests;
  • Obtaining and deploying resources to advance sector understanding of science and/or technology;
  • Industry bodies and/or sector end-users have shown investment or commitment to the nominee’s applied research programme over an extended period of time.

Value: The award has no monetary value. Fellows are entitled to use the letters FNZIAHS to signify that they are Fellows of The New Zealand Institute of Agricultural & Horticultural Science.

Eligibility: NZIAHS Full membership and be a financial member at the date of nomination and for at least five years previously.

Procedure: All nominations must be made on the NZIAHS nomination form. Nominations must be accompanied by supporting material that provides evidence of the service provided by the member to both the Institute and agricultural and horticultural science.

Selection: Nominations are first reviewed by the NZIAHS Awards Committee and then further reviewed by NZIAHS Council.

Dr Brent Clothier
Dr Jeremy Burdon
Dr David Teulon
Prof Jon Hickford
Dr Ron Beatson
Prof Keith Cameron
Dr Bruce Campbell
Prof Tony Conner
Prof Hong Di
Dr Michael Dunbier
Dr Robyn Dynes
Prof Richard Falloon
Dr Ian Ferguson
Dr Ross Ferguson
Prof Stephen Goldson
Prof John Hampton
Prof Julian Heyes
Dr Jeanne Jacobs
Prof Paula Jameson
Prof Derrick Moot
Dr Jeffrey Reid
Dr Surinder Saggar
Prof Alison Stewart
Dr Grant Thorp
Dr Stuart Tustin
Mr David Wallace
Dr Morgan Williams
Mr John Wilton
Prof Warren McNabb
Dr Jim Crush
Dr Alan Stewart

Prof Robert Anderson
Mr Vincent Ashworth
Prof Paul Atkinson
Mr Hugh Clifford
Prof Ian Cornforth
Mr Nelson Cullen
Mr Garth Cumberland
Mr Jim Douglas
Dr Murray Dye
Mr Trevor Ellett
Sir Alan Frampton
Dr Chris Hale
Dr John Keoghan
Dr Bruce Miller
Emeritus Prof Ken Milne
Dr John Palmer
Mr Pat Palmer
Dr P. Shannon
Dr David Steven
Prof Russell Tillman
Dr Marc Ulyatt
Mr Tony Warrington