AgResearch team among winners at event to celebrate 2022 Research Honours Aotearoa winners

An AgResearch team was among the winners of 10 medals and awards presented in Hamilton this week by Royal Society Te Apārangi and the Health Research Council of New Zealand.

The medals and awards recognise researchers in New Zealand who have achieved excellence in scholarship, innovation or who have made a significant contribution to the nation through their research and careers.

This was the first of three 2022 Research Honours Aotearoa events to be held around the country.

The MacDiarmid Medal for outstanding scientific research that demonstrates the potential for application to human benefit was awarded to the AgResearch Plant Biotechnology Team – Dr Greg Bryan, Dr Nick Roberts and Dr Somrutai Winichaykul – for research on enhanced photosynthesis.

This technology has the potential to increase nutrient and energy density of forages and crops, improving productivity and animal performance whilst reducing environmental impacts of agriculture.

The technology produces and stores oil in the green tissue of plants via the transfer of two genes. This not only increased leaf fatty acid content, but also enhanced photosynthesis by up to 24%. If successfully applied to crops, this technology could simultaneously alleviate global hunger and slow climate change.

Source: Royal Society Te Apārangi

Author: Bob Edlin

Editor of AgScience Magazine and Editor of the AgScience Blog