Damien O’Connor pays tribute to 2018 Biosecurity Awards winners

Biosecurity Minister Damien O’Connor has paid tribute to the winners of the 2018 New Zealand Biosecurity Awards.

He described them as the people and organisations who go above and beyond to protect the country from pests and diseases “to ensure our unique way of life is sustained for future generations”.

The New Zealand Biosecurity Supreme Award winner was Environment Southland for its Fiordland Marine Pathway Management Plan.

The Minister’s Biosecurity Award was won by Greg Corbett, Biosecurity Manager at the Bay of Plenty Regional Council.

Mr O’Connor said:

“Greg has shown leadership from the grassroots up for over 35 years, protecting New Zealand’s farms, forests and waterways from animal pests since 1983.

The winners are:

  • New Zealand Biosecurity Community Award – Pirongia Te Aroaro o Kahu Restoration Society
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Industry Award – Kiwifruit Vine Health
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Science Award – Scion: New Zealand Forest Research Institute
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Emerging Leader Award – Dr Amanda Black
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Māori Award – Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Te Rangi Iwi Trust
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Local and Central Government Award – Environment Southland
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Innovation Award – Jacson3 Limited
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Supreme Award – Environment Southland
  • Minister’s Biosecurity Award – Greg Corbett

Further detail is at www.mpi.govt.nz/biosecurityawards

Source:  Minister of Agriculture

Author: Bob Edlin

Editor of AgScience Magazine and Editor of the AgScience Blog

Leave a Reply