Entries are opened for the 2022 New Zealand Food Awards

Entries opened today for the 2022 New Zealand Food Awards and close on 31 May. The awards will be announced at a gala dinner in Palmerston North in October.

Massey University is the principal sponsor and owner of the awards, which have celebrated New Zealand’s food and beverage manufacturers, focusing on innovation and excellence, since 1987.

The awards are open to small and large food and beverage manufacturers, primary food producers, food service providers and ingredient supply companies. This year, the awards will continue to build on the “Food Hero” theme, developed during the 2020 lockdown to celebrate the way Kiwi companies are responding and reacting to the global pandemic.

Massey University Vice-Chancellor Professor Jan Thomas says the standard of entries each year is outstanding, and the calibre of previous winners is testament to that.

“We’ve seen some incredibly innovative entries over the years,” Professor Thomas says.  

“The global pandemic has pushed the boundaries in terms of businesses, large and small, having to navigate through some tough times, and respond to ever-changing consumer needs. It’s very exciting to see what Aotearoa New Zealand’s food and beverage producers have come up with in the past 12 months, and I would invite businesses of all sizes to put themselves forward to the judges.

“Through our excellent industry-engaged research and teaching, Massey plays a key role in the success of the food and beverage sector. 

“We are honoured to be able to support the innovators and success stories through these awards and we are extremely proud of the role the awards have had in recognising the excellence and importance of our world-class food and beverage industry.”

Products are judged by an expert judging panel which provides feedback and helps businesses to benchmark themselves against industry peers, providing valuable insights for future development and approaches.

The award categories provide many opportunities for manufacturers to showcase different products aimed at national and international markets.

There are 12 categories this year, with products and business judged across three areas:

  • Product awards
  • Business awards
  • Community awards

The judging process is built on the pillars of technical capability, consumer acceptability, regulatory compliance and food quality and safety.

The supreme winner is selected from the winners of each of the individual category awards.

Source:  Massey University


Author: Bob Edlin

Editor of AgScience Magazine and Editor of the AgScience Blog